Don’t Ruffle My Cardinal Feathers, LA

As most of you probably know, I live in Los Angeles. If you didn’t know that, I live in Los Angeles. At different times during the year I’m surrounded by Lakers and/or Clippers fans, Kings fans, Angels fans, and Dodgers fans. Even though the Kings season has begun it seems like people have forgotten about hockey all together so that they can support the Dodgers.

Dodgers fans are great. Some fans followed them to LA from their days in Brooklyn, others have just become involved this season. Regardless of how long you’ve been a fan, it’s fun to be in LA right now. Well, it would be a lot more fun if I were a Dodgers fan.

This series I made the decision to root for the Cardinals, failing to recognize that I live in the city of their formidable opponent. The opponent whose fans are relentless with taunts and jeers at the fans of the other team (regardless of whether or not the team poses a true threat). While watching Game 1 last Friday night with friends (a mixture of Cardinals and Dodgers fans) at a local bar, I got more and more excited as each extra inning came about. It’s no secret that I love extra innings (bonus baseball) or that I love October baseball.  Extra October baseball? That’s my cup of Pumpkin Spice Coffee!

What I did next was not the smartest thing I’ve ever done (also, not even close to the dumbest).  I loudly cheered and jumped up and down when Beltran’s hit scored the winning Cardinals run. People glared. Everyone glared. No one booed the Dodgers loss, or even the Cardinals win. All eyes on me.

Have I learned my lesson? Sort of. I get the same stares as a Mets fan at a Dodgers game and the Mets haven’t been a true postseason competitor in years. So, I’ve learned that Dodgers diehards (as a collective 50k) have little to no tolerance for fans of ANY team except their own. With that in mind, I’ll still “advertise” my picks, but maybe just a bit more conservatively.

Posted on October 17, 2013, in 2013, Cardinals, Dodgers, MLB. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. One of the first Dodger Giant contest I ever attended was at Dodger Stadium. During the game the Giants had a magnificent rally to take the lead. Needless to say our family became joyous beyond belief. Suddenly solid water (better known as ice cubes) whizzed by our heads, this was followed by a group of home supporters shouting, “There, that ought to cool you Giant fans off.” All I can say is they were gone by the seventh inning, but they were loud and loyal from the third inning until they left. It left us a bit more conservative like you Melissa.

Leave a Reply

