Quiz Time! – All Star Break Edition

Happy All Star break, everyone! If you’re like me, you’re lost. I don’t know what to do without baseball. Last night I watched a rerun of “Full House”. COME BACK, BASEBALL! With substantially more time on my hands, I’ve spent the last few days searching for the most bizarre pieces of information, trying to uncover some of the most absurd “fun” facts. Instead of just telling you what I’ve discovered, I’ve made a quiz!

Let’s get started!


1. Yoenis Cespedes is the first Cuban born player to WIN the Home Run Derby, but there are two other Cuban born players who have participated. Both participated twice, and never at the same time as the other. Who are they?

2. Yoenis Cespedes is the first Home Run Derby winner to not make the All-Star roster that same year, however, there have been 10 other Derby Participants to not make the ASG roster that year. How many can you name?

3. Justin Morneau is the only Canadian-born player to win the Derby (2008). There are two other Canadian-born players who have participated. Who are they?

4. Four Venezuelan-born players have participated in the Derby. Only one of them has won. Who is it?

5. Only twice has the HR Derby winner also been named the ASG MVP the same year. Who are they?

6. In what year did the All-Star game outcome first determine which league would get home field advantage in the World Series?

7. In this year’s game, the NL came up with only 3 hits. What is the fewest amount of hits recorded by one team in one All Star game?

8. This year’s ASG brought a crowd of 45,186 to Citi Field, the largest ever in the venue. Which ASG has the largest crowd of all time?

9. One player has won both the ASG MVP and the World Series MVP in the same year. Who is it?

10. In 2002 the All Star game ended in a 2-2 tie. In what inning was the game called?


1. Rafael Palmeiro (2004, 1998) and Jose Canseco (1990, 1986)

2. Matt Kemp (2010), Nelson Cruz (2009), Carlos Pena (2009), Josh Hamilton (2008), Evan Longoria (2008), Ryan Howard (2007), Hee-Seop Choi (2005), Jason Bay (2005), Rafael Palmeiro (2004), Albert Belle (1993)

3. Jason Bay (2005) and Larry Walker (1999, 1997)

4. Bobby Abreu (2005) [Other participants are Miguel Cabrera (2010, 2006), Magglio Ordonez (2007), Henry Rodriguez (1996)]

5. Cal Ripken Jr. (1991) and Garret Anderson (2003)

6. 2003

7. On July 10, 1990 the NL had only 2 hits.

8. On August 9, 1981 the Cleveland Indians hosted the game at Municipal Stadium and welcomed 72,086 fans.

9. Derek Jeter (2000)

10. 11th

How many did you get correct? Comment below!


Posted on July 18, 2013, in 2017, MLB and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I got a perfect score. Zero correct.

  2. I am ashamed of Howard because he stole my score.

  3. Good quiz! Like the blog, especially because it had two Yoenis Cespedes themed questions …

  4. I’d rather not admit my poor score, but I did manage to squeak out #3 and #4 correctly. Challenging but interesting questions. Thanks for posting!

  5. I had to get Abreu. As a Phillies fan I fondly remember Abreu (2005) and Ryan Howard (2006) back-to-back derby champions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: