Here We Go Again

chopped-project-main2By Geary Kaczorowski

Here we go again, another All-Star Game and I’m watching the Chopped marathon on the Food Network Channel. I do keep jumping back and forth from the cooking contest to the game and then back again, but I’m mostly concentrating on cooking with leftovers.

I want to watch baseball, I love watching baseball, but I’m not terribly excited to watch the All-Star Game, which kind of makes absolutely no sense. You got all the best players in baseball gathered together in one mid-summer event and I feel amazingly blasé about the whole affair.

Maybe it’ll make a difference if I watch the game with the sound off. That way I won’t have to endure the boring professional broadcasters’ voice of Joe Buck and the annoyingly informative baseball stories and stats from Tim McCarver. Maybe it’s the announcers that make the game a trial for me.

All too often when I jump from Chopped to the game because of a commercial, I catch a commercial break during the game and that is maddening. Maybe that’s what I hate about the game, and television in general, the commercials. But that wouldn’t explain my little interest in watching the All-Star Game tonight.

I have to say though I have been digging all the cool orange baseball shoes that AL players have been rockin’, especially the AL starting pitcher Max Scherzer, and centerfielder Adam Jones. They dressed up the game in a very flashy, visual way that I found refreshing. It doesn’t appear the NL players’ shoes are interesting in any way.

To be honest I can’t really remember ever being enthralled with baseball’s mid-summer classic. Since it’s become nothing more than an exercise in extracting even more money from baseball fans, instead of a true contest between the leagues’ best, I’ve been driven further away from it. And don’t get me started on what Bud Selig did to the game one year, or the World Series home field advantage BS.

I think I’m gonna stick with Chopped for the bulk of this evening, apparently just like every year since I discovered that amazing cooking show. I was fascinated by the leftovers challenge and look forward to the new episode involving desert items in each course.

At least the regular season will recommence this weekend so I don’t have to wait that long for a baseball I will certainly find a lot more interesting than the All-Star Game. Right now the game’s a boring AL 2, NL 0 with a total of 6 hits between the leagues. Other than the orange shoes I haven’t seen anything that’s going to drag my attention away from cooking.

About mesh5

a life-long baseball fan that began, at the age of 54, to play organized baseball for the first time. i'm part of the cape cod over-35 league, playing second base and rightfield. i run my own web site development company as well as being the music director at wumd

Posted on July 16, 2013, in 2013, MLB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

