Last Weekend Before the All-Star Game

yasiel puigBy Geary Kaczorowski

Well, here we are at the last weekend of the first half. All in all not a bad first half if I do say so, especially considering my two most favorite teams are riding high in first place in their divisions. I’ve got the Boston Red Sox in the Al East holding steadily to their 3.5 game lead over those Tampa Bay Rays, and then over in the AL Central I’ve got my hometown Detroit Tigers maintaining a 2.5 game lead over the Cleveland Indians.

In my fantasy league I’ve got the Atlanta Braves as my pitching staff and since they’re holding a steady lead in the NL East over either the Washington Nationals or Philadelphia Phillies, depending on the day of the week, all is right in my baseball world.

Of course All-Star week is my least favorite time during the major league season. What with all that yammering about Yasiel Puig being All-Star worthy, or not All-Star worthy, according to whatever baseball pundit was mouthing off, was just about enough to make me nuts. Who cares? He’s an exciting ballplayer and he may or may not last but at the moment he is what baseball is all about, a player capturing the public attention with a sparkling debut in the show.

And as long as the All-Star game winner determines who has home field advantage come World Series time I’ll always view it as such a load of Selig crap that I want to scream. I fail to see how implementing that fascinating bit of decision making has made the game of baseball more interesting.

The other thing that has puzzled me to no end is this year’s playing of interleague games every day of the season. I’m not all that much of a baseball purist having embraced the use of the DH in the American League from its inception, but I always liked the separation of the two leagues.

We had two different styles of baseball, two different baseball strategies, and when the two leagues finally came together in the fall to play head to head became a moment of excitement at finally being able to see ballplayers that you usually only read about. Now the dilution of the leagues has reduced that excitement to nothing more than a boring sort of curiosity.

I can hardly wait for next weekend and the resumption of the regular season. This is when the division races really start to heat up and the dead wood of the league is weeded out. Of course there’s the trade deadline coming up, but like I’ve said in the past, I’m not that much of a talent evaluator nor am I able to determine what a team may or may not need to carry them into the post season. I leave all that guessing and prognosticating to those pundits that pretend they know more than the rest of us.

Viva la baseball.

About mesh5

a life-long baseball fan that began, at the age of 54, to play organized baseball for the first time. i'm part of the cape cod over-35 league, playing second base and rightfield. i run my own web site development company as well as being the music director at wumd

Posted on July 12, 2013, in 2013, Braves, Fantasy, Indians, MLB, Nationals, Phillies, Rays, Red Sox, Tigers. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

