What’s Worth Watching?

police tapeWhat’s better for me to be watching? Heat/Spurs NBA finals? Red Sox/Orioles? ID’s Swamp Murders? Chopped? The great shows on TV, live or otherwise, are endless. I was going to say my first choice would be the Red Sox/Orioles, but then I thought about how interesting a cooking show would be. I like cooking shows. I get great ideas from cooking shows.

It’s still basketball season though. Hell, it’s still hockey season with the Bruins losing a 3 OT heart-breaker last night. Of course it was Boston’s fault for letting the Blackhawks catch up to them and eventually beat them.

It’s June and the hockey season is still going on. Did it used to be like this? Or is this a direct result of having NHL hockey teams in Florida, Southern California and the desert of Arizona, places where hockey is not indigenous?

So the Red Sox have been cruising along, winning 7 out of 10 games, continuing to see-saw with the Detroit Tigers for best run differential in the AL and holding a 3 game lead over the hated Yankees. With the team far exceeding expectations it sure is making for a fun summer. And they’re winning sometimes in come-from-behind, dramatic fashion. You can’t complain too much about that.

I’ve got the Red Sox leading the AL East, and my hometown Tigers leading the AL Central. With the San Antonio Spurs holding a 2 to 1 advantage over the Miami Heat in the NBA finals and the Stanley Cup one game in I’m running a quad-fecta of sports. I should be playing Powerball I’ve got so many of my favorite teams all excelling at the same time.

Will the Red Sox hang in there and make the tough AL East even tougher? I sure hope so and I feel that they will. Can the Tigers continue their mastery of the AL Central? You bet. I also feel confident that the Bruins will dispense with the Blackhawks to win their 2nd Stanley Cup in 3 years. And of course the Spurs will put a hurt on the Heat for their 5th title.

Soon the All-Star game will be upon us and my total focus on baseball will finally kick into high gear, especially if the Red Sox are still leading their division. So far so good though.

About mesh5

a life-long baseball fan that began, at the age of 54, to play organized baseball for the first time. i'm part of the cape cod over-35 league, playing second base and rightfield. i run my own web site development company as well as being the music director at wumd

Posted on June 13, 2013, in Orioles, Red Sox, Tigers, Yankees. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I understand the feeling Geary when all your teams are winning it can be nirvana. Especially the excitement with the Boston Red Sox in light of what happened last year. I say I understand and that’s because we out here in the Bay Area had it pretty good the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

