Using PEDs

tony boschBy Geary Kaczorowski

I wonder why I’ve never taken PEDs. I’m sure I could use whatever benefit these performance-enhancing drugs might bring to my game. Why does Alex Rodriguez and Ryan Braun get to enjoy the benefits? Sounds like those two, and a score of other players are in trouble over these banned substance.

It’s not that I’ve been playing poorly in the Cape Cod 40+ League, but I’m only hitting .200 through the first half of the season. I haven’t gotten many at bats, being mostly a fill-in player this year. I broke my ankle 3 games into the second half of the Buzzard Bay Raiders 2012 season and I decided I’d take it easy this first half.

But I did get to play in 7 of our 11 games, and I played an error-free second base. Since I’m usually hitting 9th in the order, or lower, I don’t get as many at bats as I’d like. My defense is solid, I just need to step up my hitting. I only have one strikeout so I’m putting the ball in play.

I’m nearly 10 months removed from the insertion of a plate and 9 pins into my right ankle and I’m playing baseball. I have to give a lot of credit to the surgeon who put my ankle back together, John Willis, M.D. He’s got mad surgery skills. My ankle feels great, I can run full out on it and only feel mildly sore the next day.

So while the Cape Cod Baseball League gets ready for their season I get to take the Raiders break and get in plenty of practice time, strengthening my ankle even more. But how about those Red Sox and Tigers?

Boston destroyed the Texas Rangers tonight, while the Tigers were destroying the Tampa Bay Rays. Boston and Detroit are now 1 & 2 in runs scored in all of baseball and have division leads of 2½ & 2 games respectively. These are two of the top 5 AL teams in terms of runs allowed, so right now things are working pretty well for both of them.

I sure hope this continues. I’m having a great time as a baseball fan this season.

About mesh5

a life-long baseball fan that began, at the age of 54, to play organized baseball for the first time. i'm part of the cape cod over-35 league, playing second base and rightfield. i run my own web site development company as well as being the music director at wumd

Posted on June 4, 2013, in Rangers, Rays, Red Sox, Tigers. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

