Boston, April 15, 2013

By Geary Kaczorowski

I’m struggling to write my blog this week in light of yesterday’s tragedy at the Boston Marathon. Baseball, or any sport really, seems so inconsequential right now. We have another senseless act of violence on our hands, with 3 dead, over 176 wounded, some critically. I’m having a hard time thinking about anything else.

I lived in Boston for 12 years and know the area well where this heartbreak has taken place. I worked right down the street so there were many times I walked through Copley Square and down Boylston St. where the explosions went off. My adopted hometown and innocent people are being blown up.

I can’t get my head around the fact that something this horrendous happened at a running event. But I guess when you’ve got half a million spectators and 25,000 runners all together, a cowardly act like a bombing would have no trouble happening.

And cowardly it was because so far no group or person has claimed responsibility, as the why and the what for of the action remain a mystery. But really, why? And what for? It’s unimaginable. What is there be gained from this despicable act?

My thoughts go out to the victims and their families and how hard this must be to deal with. Baseball can wait until we find the guilty.

About mesh5

a life-long baseball fan that began, at the age of 54, to play organized baseball for the first time. i'm part of the cape cod over-35 league, playing second base and rightfield. i run my own web site development company as well as being the music director at wumd

Posted on April 16, 2013, in 2013, MLB. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

